.

My Vision For Vacancy: Chick-fil-A, Please Come To Richfield

The Maple Grove Planning Commission recommended planned-unit development for the restaurant and, well, I want one in Richfield, too!

Each time I hop a plane to the southern United States, as soon as I set foot into the terminal I'm looking for a Chick-fil-A restaurant.

I'm serious. It's become a tradition. The file photo for this article is an original.

So, you can imagine my surprise when I read in fellow publication, , that Chick-fil-A planned-unit development was recently recommended by the city's planning commission. Next stop, city council!

However, truth be told, two weeks ago I discovered there would be one put into the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport.

"Oh, now I can eat some delicious waffle fries before take-off, throughout my trip and upon my return," I said to myself. "Living the dream."

Prior to that, I heard rumors of a location on the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities campus—which, of course, I investigated and found to be true!

(OK. I'm sure you're thinking I'm a little nuts. But, I prefer passionate.)

Anyway, to get to my point, I would fully support the addition of a location in Richfield. Possibly on the yet-to-be-redeveloped lot next to the Cedar Point Commons development.

Last year, . The city council was luke warm about the idea, considering Richfield is already ridden with fast food style restaurants. And while I can't argue against that point (it is a bit ridiculous to have three Dairy Queens in town), I do think a Chick-fil-A would diversify the current stock of restaurant options, be an extremely profitable, regional draw (thereby helping surrounding businesses) and also combine a little southern hospitality with Minnesota-nice.

OK. Two cents. Anyone else with me? Against me? Have another suggestion?

Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 10, 2012 at 05:28 PM
A reader just wrote this on the Richfield Patch Facebook page: "Chick-fil-A has a strong anti-gay marriage agenda. They have donated nearly 2 million dollars to anti-gay groups. Please don't bring their hatred to our neighborhood!"
Joe Hoover July 10, 2012 at 05:33 PM
Unfortunately Chick-fil-A is very homophobic and have donated millions to groups that have anti-gay agendas.. Richfield can do much better. There tastier and friendlier restaurants we can get to come here. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/01/chick-fil-a-donated-anti-gay-groups-2009_n_1069429.html
Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 10, 2012 at 05:41 PM
Thanks for sharing the link Joe. You said "tastier and friendlier options" ... suggestions?
Carly Thomas Kidd July 10, 2012 at 05:49 PM
Why can't food just be about food? Or retail just be about retail. I'm tired of hearing that one should boycot or support specific restaurants, retail shops, or other companies based on how they donate their profits. I am not anti gay at all, but I do not choose where I eat or shop based on how they spend their profits. I have never eaten at a Chick-fil-A so have no opinion, but if they had yummy food, I would eat it. Companies are entitled to spend their money how they want and to have their own opinions , just as we are.
Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 10, 2012 at 05:57 PM
I just did a Patch poll about this sort of thing - kind of. It was on whether companies should express opinions on social and political issues. There were mixed feelings on it. Here's the link if you care to read or take the poll: http://patch.com/A-vs1B I think this is kind of a double edged sword. Personally, I eat and shop where I like - and what is convenient. I've never really thought about whether I would boycott something for a reason such as this. I tend to think I wouldn't, but it's hard when you find out information that doesn't align with your core values.
Jeff July 10, 2012 at 08:27 PM
I think they should go in the old Ground Round space. Would have great visibility on 494 then!
Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 10, 2012 at 08:34 PM
I miss the Ground Round. I think the problem is that it is easy to see from the freeway, but once you get off it's hard to find. However, fast food restaurants have a certain pull. P.S. Was it you that requested more Visions for Vacancies on the last article? Got your wish! I'll have more coming, too!
Jeff July 10, 2012 at 08:41 PM
yes it was! Thanks Caitlin! :-)
Jennifer July 11, 2012 at 01:39 PM
How about a Panera Bread or a Au Bon Pain? Those would be a couple of healthier "fast food" options. Yeah, Chick-fil-A's anti-lgbt stance and company behavior has been in the national news this last year. I think it's important to know about the companies to which we give our hard earned money. Our consumer choices do make a difference. This last year nationally known drag queen, Willam Belli, co-created a hilarious parody about Chick-fil-A making fun of the company's anti-lgbt stance. I would definitely not want a Chick-fil-A in my hometown, Richfield. If this url doesn't work go to YouTube and search "willam belli chow down" http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sO-msplukrw
Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 11, 2012 at 02:15 PM
I'm definitely down with Panera and have yet to visit an Au Bon Pain. Where is the nearest one?
Kevin O'Donovan July 11, 2012 at 02:40 PM
A fantastic restaurant chain in the Southwest is El Pollo Loco. They serve Mesquite fire grilled chicken. If a franchise ever came up here it would be a huge hit. It is similar to Famous Dave's but does nothing but chicken and the usual side orders. There is no variety but the food is affordable and yummy.They split the chicken and fire it up flat. People of all ages like it.
Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 11, 2012 at 04:04 PM
Never heard of it. Sounds good though!
monkey in a dryer July 11, 2012 at 04:16 PM
In and Out Burger!!!
Caitlin Burgess (Editor) July 11, 2012 at 04:45 PM
Animal style!
Jeff July 11, 2012 at 07:40 PM
El Pollo Loco and In and Out would be great to have too!
Annie S. July 18, 2012 at 12:52 PM
I don't care what they put in, as long as it's open 24/7 or very late at night. Oh yea, and that it's NOT another McDonalds.
Jeff July 23, 2012 at 07:56 PM
Due to the candid remarks that the president of Chik-Fil-A has made about the GLBT community last week I will NEVER eat at or support one of these restaurants in our community!
Susie August 02, 2012 at 04:17 PM
I love Chik-Fil-A food and would welcome one to Richfield. I don't care where they spend their profits. I'm much like you, Caitlin. When I travel south, I have to have one. My hubby is as passionate as you about them too. I once bought 5 original sandwiches at the Atlanta airport and brought them home for him. He was so happy!
santa August 06, 2012 at 12:16 PM
Bring in chick-fil-a.....i see they had a big day wednesday after the libs wanted to shut them down...maybe bring in 2 or 3...
Annie S. August 06, 2012 at 12:48 PM
I'm willing to bet the majority of corporations on the planet have used their name or profits to forward some agenda I don't completely agree with. I always find it amusing when the sheep unite. If we could harness all this energy for more important things - like, oh I don't know, feeding people who can't afford to be astonished that Chick-fil-a misused their proceeds, what a wonderful world this would be.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something