How Redistricting Affects 2012 Ballot for Three Rivers Park District Commissioners

Primary on Aug. 14 will reflect recent redistricting so the population of each district is as equal as possible. Communities throughout the west Metro belong to the Three Rivers Park District.

With the primary election in Minnesota approaching on Aug. 14, is reminding voters that commissioner districts have changed due to redistricting.

The seven-member Three Rivers Park District Board of Commissioners includes five commissioners elected by residents of suburban Hennepin County and two members appointed on an at-large basis by the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners. The Board adopted the redistricting plan for Three Rivers Park District this spring.

State statute requires that the population of each district be as equal as possible. To achieve that population balance, four cities are split between two Commissioner districts. They are: Brooklyn Park (Districts 2 and 3), Hopkins (Districts 3 and 4), Orono (Districts 1 and 4) and Richfield (Districts 4 and 5).

The filing deadline to declare candidacy for Three Rivers Park District commissioner passed last month, and primary elections will take place Aug. 14 in District 1 and District 2 to narrow the field of candidates to two.

District 1 Candidates:

  • Penny Steele (Rogers)
  • Sara Wyatt (Orono)
  • James Holmbeck (Mound)
  • Janice Meyer (Rogers)

District 2 Candidates:

  • Jennifer DeJournett (Maple Grove)
  • Rick Theisen (Maple Grove)
  • Marilynn Corcoran (Dayton)

District 3 Candidates (no primary):

  • Daniel Freeman (Golden Valley)
  • Matthew Laue (Robbinsdale)

District 4 Candidates (no primary):

  • John Gunyou (Minnetonka)
  • Leigh Harrod (Excelsior)

District 5 Candidates (no primary):

  • John Gibbs (Bloomington)

A map available on the Board of Commissioners page on the Park District’s website shows the new districts approved by the Board. The new Commissioner districts are:

Commissioner District 1 (currently represented by Sara Wyatt)
Minnetonka Beach

New Hope
Orono, Precincts 1, 3 and 4
Long Lake
Maple Plain
Medicine Lake
Spring Park
St. Bonifacius

Commissioner District 2 (currently represented by Marilynn Corcoran)
Brooklyn Park: All Precincts Except W1-O & W1-R
Maple Grove

Commissioner District 3 (currently represented by Joan Peters)
Brooklyn Center
Brooklyn Park: Precincts W1-O & W1-R Only
Golden Valley
Hopkins - Precinct 2
St. Anthony
St. Louis Park

Commissioner District 4 (currently represented by Dale Woodbeck)
Hopkins: All Precincts Except 2
Orono - Precinct 2
Richfield: All Precincts Except 6 & 9
Tonka Bay

Commissioner District 5 (currently represented by John Gibbs)
Eden Prairie  
Fort Snelling
Richfield: Precincts 6 & 9

Larry Blackstad currently serves as board chair and is appointed by the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners. The second county board appointee slot is currently vacant.

Three Rivers Park District is a nature-based park system that manages park reserves, regional parks, regional trails and special-use facilities in the Twin Cities metropolitan area. The Park District owns and operates more than 27,000 acres and serves more than 9 million visitors a year.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »